6.1. Controlling PSM — reboot, shutdown

To reboot or shut down PSM, navigate to Basic Settings > System > System control > This node and click the respective action button. The Other node refers to the slave node of a high availability PSM cluster. For details on high availability clusters, see Section 6.2, Managing a high availability PSM cluster.

Warning
  • When rebooting the nodes of a cluster, reboot the other (slave) node first to avoid unnecessary takeovers.

  • When shutting down the nodes of a cluster, shut down the other (slave) node first. When powering on the nodes, start the master node first to avoid unnecessary takeovers.

  • When both nodes are running, avoid interrupting the connection between the nodes: do not unplug the Ethernet cables, reboot the switch or router between the nodes (if any), or disable the HA interface of PSM.

Figure 6.1. Basic Settings > System > System Control — Performing basic management

Basic Settings > System > System Control — Performing basic management
Note

Web sessions to the PSM interface are persistent and remain open after rebooting PSM, so you do not have to relogin after a reboot.

During the reboot process, PSM displays information about the progress of the reboot and any possible problems in the following places:

  • On the web interface of PSM, at any of the Listening addresses configured at Basic settings > Local Services > Web login (admin and user). (After booting, you are directed to the login screen of PSM.)

  • On the console, which you can monitor with IPMI (ILOM) or console access.

The information displayed in the browser and on the console is the same.