7.8. Procedure – Creating and editing user lists

Purpose: 

User lists are white- or blacklists of usernames that allow fine-control over who can access a connection or a channel. Complete the following procedure to create a new user list or edit an existing one:

Warning

User Lists are white- or blacklists of usernames that determine who can access the server remotely. However, this cannot prevent a user from accessing the server from a local terminal.

Figure 7.9. Policies > User Lists — Configuring user lists

Policies > User Lists — Configuring user lists

Steps: 

  1. Navigate to the User Lists tab of the Policies menu and click to create a new user list. Enter a name for the list User List field (for example serveradmins).

    Warning

    Usernames, the names of user lists, and the names of usergroups are case sensitive.

  2. Click to display the list of users.

  3. Select the default policy of the user list. Select Reject for a whitelist, that is, to allow access only to the members of the list. Select Accept for a blacklist, that is, to allow access to everyone except the members of the list.

  4. Click and enter a username into the displayed field. Repeat this step until all required usernames are listed.

    Warning

    Usernames, the names of user lists, and the names of usergroups are case sensitive.

  5. Click to save the list.

  6. To actually restrict access to a channel based on the user list created in the previous steps:

    • Navigate to the Channel Policies tab of the type of connection you want to control and click to display the details of the policy.

    • Click in the Group section to add a new group to the policy and enter the name of the group. Repeat this step to add other groups.

      Warning

      Usernames, the names of user lists, and the names of usergroups are case sensitive.

      Note

      When listing more groups, users of any of the listed groups can access the channel. For details, see Procedure 7.5, Creating and editing channel policies.

      When listing both a whitelist and blacklist in the Group section and a username appears on both lists, the user will be able to access the channel.

    • Click .